The Region of Valencia

Spain consists of 19 autonomous communities. The Region of Valencia is set in the east of Iberian Peninsula and it is composed by three provinces: Castellón, Valencia and Alicante. Its capital is Valencia city.



The climate is Mediterranean. It is usually mild, especially on the coast, and summers are slightly warmer and winters are colder inland.


Its name is owed to the Romans Valentia Edetanorum, which can be traslated as courage or strenght on the land of the Edetanos. In the Arabic era it was named as Balansia, and after the conquest by king James of Aragón in 1238, it was named Valencia.


The flag is known as La Real Señera ( La Senyera in Valencian language). Its is made up of five yellow bands, four red bands and a vertical blue stripe on the left where it is the royal crown. It is the only flag of the world that has the royal status because the king Pere II El Ceremoniós decided to give it the consideration of Royalty in 1337. Therefore, on 9th October, day of the Region of Valencia, La Real Señera is taken down from the balcony of the Town Hall in Valencia city, and it is never bent to anyone.



The most of the Region of Valencia is occupied by mountains, so it is a rough terrain where you can discover marvelous sides. This area is known internacionally for the paella (the typical dish), sun and beach tourism and the Fallas which is held between 15th and 19th March. It was declared Intangible Culture World Heritage in 2016. However, this region is more than that, and I´m going to show you some of the most astonishing corners of this zone.




These images were extracted from